Hair Transplant Cost in Tunisia: What the Price Covers and What It Doesn't
Published Tunisian prices against US averages, the graft count behind each number, how to check who does the work, and what the first year looks like.
Published listings put a hair transplant in Tunisia at roughly $1,400 to $5,000, and the spread mostly comes down to how many grafts the price assumes. MediGence, a medical travel platform, lists USD 2,500 to 5,000 for Tunisia on its 2026 price page, while 123.clinic's July 2026 listing averages €1,258 for a session of 1,000 grafts or more. If you've been quoted $6,000 or more at home, those numbers look like a big gap. They're only useful once you know how many grafts each one buys and who's actually holding the punch.
This guide sets out what Tunisian prices usually cover, the lines that tend to get added once you're in the chair, and what to sort out before you fly home. JetWell doesn't have a clinic in Tunisia today, so nothing here is a pitch for one. If you're still comparing countries, our hair transplant cost by country guide lines Tunisia's better-known neighbors up side by side.
How much does a hair transplant cost in Tunisia?
Expect published Tunisian prices between about $1,400 and $5,000. 123.clinic's July 2026 page averages €1,258 (range €1,215 to €1,302) for a 1,000-plus graft FUE or FUT session, about $1,410. MediGence lists USD 2,500 to 5,000, and 7,450 to 14,900 dinars in Tunis. Neither figure is a quote any clinic has committed to for you.
Those are listing sites that gather prices from clinics, and they don't say exactly which items sit inside each figure. The dollar conversion uses the Central Bank of Tunisia's interbank rate of 3.0085 dinars to the dollar and 3.3646 to the euro on October 8, 2026, as La Presse reported.
At home, CareCredit's hair transplant cost guide puts the US national average between $3,919 and $10,640, with FUE averaging $6,344 and FUT $5,675.
| Reference figure | Amount | What it covers | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tunisia, 1,000+ grafts, FUE or FUT | €1,258 average (about $1,410) | One session, inclusions not stated | 123.clinic listing, July 2026 |
| Tunisia, platform range | USD 2,500 to 5,000 | Graft count and inclusions not stated | MediGence Tunisia page, 2026 |
| Tunis, platform range | 7,450 to 14,900 dinars | Same range, in local currency | MediGence Tunisia page, 2026 |
| US, national average range | $3,919 to $10,640 | Procedure, office visits may be extra | CareCredit cost guide |
| US, FUE average | $6,344 | Procedure | CareCredit cost guide |
| US, FUT average | $5,675 | Procedure | CareCredit cost guide |
Euro figure converted at the Central Bank of Tunisia cross rate on October 8, 2026, rounded to the nearest $10.
How many grafts does that price buy?
A graft is a small piece of scalp holding one to four hairs, taken from the back and sides of your head and moved to the thinning area. In FUE (follicular unit excision), each graft is punched out one at a time; in FUT, a strip of scalp is removed and divided under a microscope.
Graft count is the number that turns a headline price into a real one. The ISHRS 2025 Practice Census, a survey of the society's physician members, put the mean FUE case at 2,262 grafts. So a price built around "1,000 grafts or more" may cover well under half of what a typical FUE patient ends up having. Ask any clinic for a written graft estimate from photos of the thinning area and your donor area, and for the price per extra graft if they harvest more on the day. Our guide to how many grafts you need shows how surgeons arrive at that number.
Are there any add-ons once I'm there?
Often, yes. The usual ones are grafts beyond the number quoted, PRP (platelet-rich plasma) injections, medications to take home, extra hotel nights, and a later top-up session. MediGence notes that a stay outside the package period or a new diagnosis can push its own prices up. Get every item on its own line before you pay a deposit.
Some packages bundle airport pickup and a hotel, and some don't. That's worth checking line by line, since a bundle that looks low can turn out to assume a shared room or a single night. In JetWell's network, everything on your Care Plan is price-locked and anything not on it is extra, and the deposit isn't refundable, so the Care Plan is the document to read closely before you pay anything.
| Line item | Why it gets added | What to ask before you pay |
|---|---|---|
| Extra grafts | Surgeon harvests more than the estimate on the day | What's the price per graft above the quoted number? |
| PRP injections | Offered as an upgrade during or after surgery | Is PRP included, and is it optional? |
| Medications and shampoo | Painkillers, antibiotics and aftercare products to take home | Are they in the price? |
| Hotel nights and transfers | Bundled in some packages, not others | How many nights, and is the room shared? |
| Second session | Some patients need a later top-up for density | What's the price if I need one? |
Add-on categories from MediGence's Tunisia listing notes and the ISHRS 2025 Practice Census graft figures.
Who actually does my hair transplant?
Ask the clinic, in writing and before you pay, who will cut your recipient sites and who will remove your grafts, by full name. The International Society of Hair Restoration Surgery says in its position statement that these steps are surgery and should be done by a licensed physician, not a technician.
That matters most at the lower end of any market. The ISHRS has a whole page warning about unlicensed technicians performing hair restoration surgery, and its concern is that a technician-run clinic can miss a diagnosis or operate on someone who didn't need it. In Tunisia, doctors must be registered with the Conseil National de l'Ordre des Médecins, so ask for the surgeon's registration with the Ordre before you book. Tunisia's health ministry says the country treats more than 500,000 foreign surgical patients a year, a figure Health Minister Mustapha Ferjani cited on October 3, 2026, as AllAfrica reported. It's an official estimate, without a published method, but it does mean clinics there are used to foreign patients asking these questions.
What does the first year after the trip look like?
Most of the transplanted hairs fall out in the first weeks, and that's expected. Shock loss is the name people use for this shedding after surgery: the hair shaft drops out while the follicle stays in place and later grows a new hair. StatPearls, the NIH-hosted clinical reference, says in its hair transplantation chapter that new hairs typically appear after three to six months. A two-center FUE study adds that grafted hair usually takes six to twelve months to grow in.
The month-three mirror is the hard one. Your scalp can look thinner than it did before the trip, and that's the point where people start emailing the clinic in a panic. Knowing it's coming helps, and so does a photo taken on surgery day to compare against. Our hair transplant recovery guide walks through it week by week.
Getting to Tunisia from the US
There's no nonstop flight from the US to Tunis, so most travelers connect through a European hub such as Paris, or through Istanbul. Plan on a long day each way. The US State Department rates Tunisia at Level 2, "exercise increased caution", in an advisory issued May 21, 2026, and asks travelers to avoid the areas near the Algerian and Libyan borders, which are well away from Tunis and the coast. Its Tunisia advisory says US citizens don't need a visa for stays of 90 days or less, and that your passport needs six months of validity beyond your arrival date.
Photo by Noelle Guirola on Unsplash
On health, the CDC's Tunisia traveler page recommends hepatitis A and typhoid vaccines for most travelers and says there's no malaria transmission. See your doctor at least a month before you go. Our Tunisia destination page covers the country in more depth.
What happens if something feels wrong after I'm home?
Message the clinic and book a US doctor the same day, rather than waiting it out. A dermatologist can only help quickly if they can see what was done, so collect your records before you leave Tunisia: the number of grafts harvested and placed, the technique, the surgeon's name, any medications, and photos from surgery day.
The CDC's Yellow Book has a chapter for US clinicians on caring for people who travel for treatment, and it puts weight on having records and a plan for follow-up care before the trip. Line up a US dermatologist or hair surgeon willing to see you, and ask what a visit costs, since that's part of the price of going abroad too. Our guides to getting your records from a clinic abroad and finding a US doctor for follow-up cover both steps, and the hair transplants abroad guide has the bigger picture.
JetWell doesn't have a clinic in Tunisia today. In JetWell's model you don't pick a clinic off a list: you tell Jett what you'd like done, and JetWell matches you with a clinic in its network, named on your Care Plan. If you're weighing Tunisia against other places, ask Jett about a hair transplant and say what you're hoping for.
Frequently asked questions
Ask Jett about a hair transplant
Chat with Jett, your JetWell AI concierge, about a hair transplant. No obligation.
Get my options